Empowering the women’s vote.

October 22 – November 27, 2020

Beginning October 22, 2020 stop by SCENE Metrospace to see part of the AIGA Get Out the Vote: Empowering the Women’s Vote poster campaign. This special exhibition begins at the MSU Union Art Gallery and expands to SCENE Metrospace beginning on Thursday, October 22. Prior to entering the Michigan State University campus, we ask that you carefully review the MSU Community Compact which fully outlines expectations for visiting campus as an MSU student, faculty, staff, alumni, contractor, vendor, and visitor.

2020 marks the centennial of the ratification of the 19th Amendment, granting women the right to vote in 1920. It was the first legislation for women’s voting rights. Not until the passage of the Voting Rights Act in 1965 were voting rights of ALL women protected and enforced, and intimidation tactics progressively eliminated.

The AIGA Get Out the Vote: Empowering the Women’s Vote poster campaign, in partnership with the League of Women Voters, commemorates this milestone. A core group of invited women of design submitted the first 65 non-partisan posters, to launch the initiative with their vision and voices. Through these posters, these women joined forces to collectively contribute to the dialogue in design and society. This moment in history is an incredible opportunity to catalyze women in design, voting rights, citizenship, community, and diversity. The collection aspires to not only support present-day voter participation but to also serve as a backdrop for discourse and examination of the history of voting rights and women’s fight for equality.

The poster initiative continues at aiga.org/vote, where AIGA members can contribute posters to motivate the American public to register and turn out to vote in the 2020 general election, as well as local elections to come. Posters are available for free download on the AIGA website.

AIGA Get Out the Vote: Empowering the Women’s Vote was initiated and organized by Kelly Salchow MacArthur and Nancy Skolos. Special thanks to Frances Yllana, AIGA’s Design for Democracy Chair. Identity was designed by Kelly Salchow MacArthur and Nancy Skolos. Timeline compiled and designed by Kelly Salchow MacArthur.